August 2018


August 19th 2018

The Colac Vets only had nine riders race in very wintry conditions for their monthly medal.

Back markers made up the majority of the field with only one middle marker in Peter Theodore and one limit rider in Des Read.

Last week’s second scratch winner Mark Purdie went back to the scratch mark.

But the second scratch bunch held scratch at bay for the second week in a row to get up and take the win again.

Tony Prytz turned up to race just his fifth race with the vets this year and put in a solid ride to claim his first monthly medal since 1996.

Arno van der Schans finished second with Heather Hamling in third.

Scratch came in a couple of minutes later to take the time by 54 seconds with Larry Nocera taking fastest time over Mark Purdie and Gavin O’Brien.

There will be no club race this week with Warrnambool hosting a race at Dixie.

Result: 47Km Monthly Medal           



1 Larry Nocera             5th & Fastest Time  

2 Mark Purdie                6th

3 Gavin O’Brien             9th        


3 Minutes                                      

4 Tony Prytz                  1st  

5 Arno van der Schans   2nd  

6 Heather Hamling         3rd     

7 Ralph Iselt                   7th   


12 Minutes

8 Peter Theodore           4th    


30 Minutes

9 Des Read                   8th                                  









August 12th 2018

The Colac Vets had a small field of ten riders for their club race.

Riders were lucky to have a break in the bad weather over the weekend by having a rain free race, although it was cold with a strong westerly wind.

Lone limit rider Des Read had a 20-minute start on the next three riders and 30 minutes back to the three scratchmen.

The three second scratch riders had a 3-minute start on the scratchmen and were evenly matched against them for majority of the race.

Pre-race favourite Steve Hamling was unlucky to puncture just before his second scratch bunch made the catch to the three riders off the ten-minute mark and Des Read.

Coming in to Factory Road at Cororooke five riders were left to contest the finish.

Mark Purdie claimed the win from just his fourth start this year ahead of Heather Hamling and Len Murfitt.

The scratchmen came in a couple of minutes later and saved the time by 20 seconds with Larry Nocera taking his first fastest time ahead of Andrew Pownceby and Gavin O’Brien.

Result: 48Km Club Race       



1 Larry Nocera             7th & Fastest Time  

2 Andrew Pownceby       8th 

3 Gavin O’Brien             9th          


3 Minutes                                      

4 Mark Purdie               1st  

5 Heather Hamling         2nd  

6 Steve Hamling             Punctured     

10 Minutes

7 Len Murfitt                 3rd

8 Peter Theodore           4th    

9 Gerard Hickey             5th

30 Minutes

10 Des Read                 6th                                  










August 5th 2018

The Colac Vets had a field of fifteen riders for their club race.

Riders raced in sunny conditions but had a very strong northerly to contend with.

The field was split in to five bunches with the two limit riders getting a 28-minute start over the four scratchmen.

The 11-minute trio caught the two 13-minute riders at the 10Km mark.

This group went on to reel in the two limit riders and go on to hold off the back markers.

Rebecca Luppino claimed her first win for the year ahead of Bruce Roberts, Len Murfitt and Gerard Hickey.

A fast finishing Tony Luppino broke clear of his scratch co-markers in the final few kilometres to catch the four second scratch riders with 600 metres to go.

Luppino came in fifth place 36 seconds behind the winner to take fastest time.

Result: 46Km Club Race       



1 Tony Luppino            5th & Fastest Time  

2 Larry Nocera               10th

3 Gavin O’Brien

4 Andrew Pownceby        


5 Minutes                                      

5 Arno van der Schans     6th

6 Heather Hamling           7th

7 Steve Hamling               8th  

8 Ralph Iselt                     9th  


11 Minutes

9 Rebecca Luppino         1st

10 Len Murfitt                 3rd  

11 Gerard Hickey            4th


13 Minutes

12 Bruce Roberts             2nd

13 Paul Allen


28 Minutes

14 Des Read                      

15 Terry Robinson