June 2018

June 24th 2018

The Colac Vets had seventeen riders vying to have their name put on the Noel King memorial shield.

Riders raced in cool and calm conditions over a two lap circuit taking in Alvie and Warrion starting and finishing at the Cororooke hall.

The six middle markers were split into two bunches of three riders each with one and a half minutes separating them.

But it was the 11.30 minute trio getting the upper hand on the 10.00 minute trio by gaining even more time on them and going on to hold off the back markers.

Len Murfitt claimed his second win this year from just five starts.

Bruce Roberts finished second with Gerard Hickey in third and Paul Allen in fourth.

The second scratch trio caught the third scratch foursome and the 11.30 trio with this group being led in by Larry Nocera for fifth place.

The scratch duo came in not far behind them with Tony Luppino taking fastest time over Grant Oates.

Result: 46Km Noel King Memorial   



1 Tony Luppino           Fastest Time

2 Grant Oates            


2 Minutes                                    

3 Larry Nocera             5th

4 Gavin O’Brien           6th  

5 Andrew Pownceby     7th  


4.30 Minutes

6 Arno van der Schans   8th

7 Heather Hamling         9th

8 Ralph Iselt                   10th

9 Steve Hamling


10 Minutes

10 Rebecca Luppino

11 Peter Theodore

12 John Lee


11.30 Minutes

13 Len Murfitt               1st

14 Bruce Roberts           2nd  

15 Gerard Hickey         3rd  


15 Minutes

16 Paul Allen                 4th


22 Minutes  

Des Read      









June 17th 2018

The Colac Vets had a small field of 9 riders brave the cold and miserable conditions for their monthly medal.

Riders were split into two bunches with the four scratchmen giving an eight minute start to the other five riders.

Both bunches lost riders along the way with only six riders ending up finishing the race.

The remaining three scratchmen caught the remaining three 8 minute riders with 11km to go.

With 5Km to go only Heather Hamling remained from the 8 minute bunch to stay with the scratchmen heading towards the Lineen’s hill climb before the finish.

Coming up Lineen’s hill the scratchmen began playing cat and mouse allowing Hamling to sneak away.

After a small attack from Andrew Pownceby, Tony Luppino then jumped away to pass Hamling as they crested the hill.

Luppino went on to cross the line a clear winner with Hamling hanging on for second.

Larry Nocera just edged out Pownceby for third place.

Result: 47Km Monthly Medal           



1 Tony Luppino           1st & Fastest Time

2 Larry Nocera             3rd

3 Andrew Pownceby     4th    

4 Gavin O’Brien            


8 Minutes                                    

5 Heather Hamling         2nd

6 Peter Theodore           5th    

7 Rebecca Luppino        6th

8 Bruce Roberts

9 Gerard Hickey            









June 3rd 2018

The Colac Vets only had five riders venture to Paraparap for a race with the Geelong club which had a field of 47 riders compete in perfect conditions.

Colac’s small contingent faired well with three of them finishing in the top five places.

It was a well handicapped race where scratch finished just 25 seconds behind the winner.

Geelong’s Brett Wiltshire, riding off the 22 minute mark, made a winning move in the final few kilometres by breaking away from his bunch to finish seconds ahead of the 8 minute bunch.

Colac’s Larry Nocera won the bunch sprint for second place ahead of Ralph Iselt in third and Arno Van Der Schans in fifth place.

There will be no club race this coming long weekend.

The club’s monthly medal will be on June 17th.


Result: 63Km Hendry Cycles Handicap

First:      Brett Wiltshire (22.00) Geelong

Second: Larry Nocera (8.00) Colac

Third:    Ralph Iselt (8.00) Colac

Fourth:   Steven O’Neil (8.00) Geelong

Fifth:     Arno Van Der Schans (8.00) Colac

Sixth:     Peter Cone (11.00) Geelong

Seventh: Gavin Gamble (15.00) Geelong

Eighth:   Darren Williams (8.00) Geelong

Ninth:   Carl Judd (15.00) Geelong

Tenth:   Johnny Parrello (11.00) Geelong

Fastest Time: Gary Wearmouth (scratch) Geelong