April 2018

April 29th 2018

The Colac Vets had a field of 19 riders for their club race.

Riders raced in calm conditions with just a gentle breeze.

The handicaps were brought back in to line this week after last weeks blow out.

But the middle and front markers still had the upper hand in the easy conditions with the leading four riders coming in two minutes ahead of the scratch bunch.

Extra training over the last few weeks has helped Bruce Roberts to take the win over Paul Allen, Len Murfitt and Des Read.

Heather Hamling and Mark Purdie failed by 44 seconds on catching the leaders with the second scratch bunch coming in another 14 seconds later.

Tony Luppino led the scratch bunch in to take fastest time over Grant Oates, Andrew Pownceby and Gavin O’Brien.

Result: 46Km Club Race



1 Tony Luppino            Fastest Time          

2 Grant Oates

3 Andrew Pownceby                

4 Gavin O’Brien


4 Minutes

5 Nick Brown                 7th                              

6 Larry Nocera               8th

7 Matt Simmonds           9th

8 Ralph Iselt                   10th  

9 Steve Hamling  


8 Minutes

10 Heather Hamling         5th

11 Mark Purdie                 6th    

12 Rebecca Luppino


12 Minutes

13 Bruce Roberts             1st  

14 Len Murfitt                 3rd    

15 Noel Symons              


18 Minutes

16 Paul Allen                   2nd

17 Des Read                     4th    

18 Terry Robinson


27 Minutes

19 Murray Matthews                 







April 22nd 2018

The Colac Vets had a more respectable field of 20 riders for their club race this week.

With low numbers and windy conditions over the last few weeks, riders at last raced in zero wind conditions which was to the delight of the front and middle markers.

Heading to the Wool Wool turn around point after just 12Km, the back markers could tell they were probably not going to catch the front half of the field in the still conditions.

Three of the five front markers went on to finish with a huge lead with Ian MacKay, having his first race since July last year, taking the win ahead of co markers Terry Robinson and Des Read.

Len Murfitt led the middle markers in next and Larry Nocera led in the second scratch bunch a few minutes later.

Scratchman Tony Luppino after having a puncture last week again failed to finish, this time with a mechanical failure.

This left the remaining three scratchmen to come in a couple of minutes behind second scratch with Andrew Pownceby taking fastest time for the second week in a row, over Grant Oates and Gavin O’Brien.

Result: 46Km Club Race


1 Andrew Pownceby     Fastest Time          

2 Grant Oates                

3 Gavin O’Brien

4 Tony Luppino             Mechanical Failure     


5 Minutes                               

5 Larry Nocera               10th

6 Heather Hamling

7 Ralph Iselt

8 Arno van der Schans

9 Steve Hamling  


10 Minutes

10 John Lee

11 Rebecca Luppino


13 Minutes

12 Len Murfitt                 4th

13 Bruce Roberts             5th  

14 Gerard Hickey           6th  

15 Noel Symons             9th  


24 Minutes

16 Ian MacKay               1st

17 Terry Robinson           2nd             

18 Des Read                    3rd

19 Tim O’Sullivan           7th


28 Minutes

20 Bernadette Rowbottom   8th                 





April 15th 

The Colac Vets had their smallest field so far this year with just nine riders turning up to race in terrible conditions from the bad weather over the weekend.

The scratch duo was out of contention after Tony Luppino punctured at the 12Km mark leaving Grant Oates to try and catch the two remaining second scratch riders.

Lone 15-minute rider Gerard Hickey also had a puncture.

Second scratch caught the third scratch duo with only one of them staying with them.

These three riders only had limit rider Des Read to catch, which they did with over 10Km still to go.

In the fast tailwind finish up Lineen’s hill Andrew Pownceby broke clear to come in and take his first win, which was also the monthly medal, since joining the Colac Vets.

Arno van der Schans held off Gavin O’Brien to take second place.

Pownceby also took fastest time with Grant Oates losing the time by one minute.

Result: 47Km Monthly Medal



1 Grant Oates                  4th  

2 Tony Luppino             Punctured     


3 Minutes                               

3 Andrew Pownceby       1st & Fastest Time

4 Gavin O’Brien             3rd

5 Larry Nocera               5th    


7 Minutes

6 Arno van der Schans   2nd

7 Tony Prytz                    6th  


15 Minutes

8 Gerard Hickey             Punctured


27 Minutes             

9 Des Read                      7th            






April 8th 

The Colac Vets had a small field of twelve riders for their club race with several riders away with other commitments.

The field was split in to five groups with Bernadette Rowbottom, having her first race for the year, being sent of the 27-minute limit mark.

The scratch duo gave a three and a half minute start to the four second scratch riders which proved to be a bit too much.

The second scratch foursome went on to reel in the rest of the field with the in form Larry Nocera claiming his second win for the year ahead of co markers Heather Hamling, Arno van der Schans and Steve Hamling.

Tony Luppino finished ahead of co marker Gavin O’Brien to take fastest time, coming in just under two minutes behind the winner.


Result: 47Km Club Race


1 Tony Luppino               6th & Fastest Time

2 Gavin O’Brien                10th  


3 Minutes 30 Seconds

3 Larry Nocera                  1st  

4 Heather Hamling             2nd  

5 Arno van der Schans      3rd    

6 Steve Hamling                 4th  


10 Minutes

7 Rebecca Luppino             7th    

8 Noel Symons

9 Peter Theodore

24 Minutes                        

10 Des Read                         5th    

11 Terry Robinson               6th    


27 Minutes  

12 Bernadette Rowbottom   9th