November 2017


Nov 26th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of fourteen riders for their club race.

Riders were lucky with the weather after having rained all during the night.

Starting on wet roads the race ended in dry and warm conditions with little wind.

The field was split in to five groups with the five man scratch bunch giving a 29 minute start out to lone limit rider Sue Theodore.

The race turned out to be one of the closest in several weeks.

The second scratch four-minute trio took a wrong turn early in the race which possibly could have cost them the win.

With 8Km remaining the two second limit riders had caught the limit rider.

The back three bunches were still separated at this point.

With 6km to go the second scratch trio and the third scratch trio had come together with the scratchmen bearing down on them.

Turning into the home straight the field was with in a few hundred metres.

With 400 metres to go scratch had caught the combined second and third scratch riders.

But the two 16-minute riders managed to hold them off by just seven seconds with Noel Symons taking his second win for the year ahead of Tom McBroom.

Ralph Iselt just edged out Gavin O’Brien to take third place and fastest time.

Result: 49Km Club Race



1 Ralph Iselt                      3rd & Fastest Time                 

2 Gavin O’Brien                4th     

3 Tony Prytz                      6th   

4 Damian Luppino             8th  

5 Steve Hamling                   


4 Minutes                    

6 Heather Hamling            5th

7 Larry Nocera                  9th 

8 Mark Purdie                   10th     


7 Minutes  

9 Rebecca Luppino            7th 

10 Gerard Hickey                     

11 Peter Theodore  


16 Minutes 

12 Noel Symons                1st   

13 Tom McBroom             2nd  


29 Minutes    

14 Sue Theodore                









Nov 19th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of fourteen riders for their club race.

Riders raced in warm sunny conditions with light winds.

With three of the usual scratchmen away, Gavin O’Brien was put off with four riders from second scratch to form the scratch bunch.

These five riders were chasing four minutes to the next bunch of four riders and 25 minutes to the two limit riders in Bernadette Rowbottom and Sue Theodore.

The four-minute bunch, after losing Peter Theodore, caught the two riders from the 11-minute bunch and Terry Robinson from the 20-minute mark.

With seven kilometres to go the two limit riders were caught by the four-minute group and co, with scratch hitting the lead shortly after.

Steve Hamling led the field around the last corner and for the next few hundred metres.

Then with 700 metres remaining Gavin O’Brien jumped away followed by Tony Prytz.

The inform O’Brien had enough left to hold off Prytz to take his second win in three weeks and his third win for the year as well as fastest time.

Arno van der Schans followed next to take third place.

Result: 51Km Club Race


1 Gavin O’Brien               1st & Fastest Time                 

2 Tony Prytz                     2nd     

3 Arno van der Schans      3rd

4 Ralph Iselt                      5th  

5 Steve Hamling                6th      


4 Minutes                    

6 Heather Hamling            4th

7 Larry Nocera                  7th 

8 Mark Purdie                   10th 

9 Peter Theodore     


11 Minutes  

10 Bruce Roberts               8th 

11 Gary Legg                     9th  


20 Minutes 

12 Terry Robinson     


25 Minutes    

13 Bernadette Rowbottom

14 Sue Theodore                









Nov 12th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of fifteen riders for their monthly medal.

Riders raced with the same south easterly winds as last week only stronger.

The middle and front marker bunches have been depleted over the last couple of weeks.

With ten riders making up the back two bunches and with the windy conditions the riders out in front were going to find it hard to keep the back markers away.

The second scratch bunch hit the lead with 16Km to go.

The scratch bunch then caught second scratch with 7Km to go.

At the bottom of Lineen’s hill with 2Km remaining Gavin O’Brien, who was having his first race from the scratch mark, was unlucky to drop his chain putting him out of contention.

A couple of hundred metres later Grant Oates attacked with Tony Luppino jumping across to his wheel.

These two cleared away with Luppino out sprinting Oates at the finish to take his fourth win and second monthly medal for the year.

David Lunn led the remaining riders in to take third place.

Result: 52Km Monthly Medal


1 Tony Luppino                1st & Fastest Time                 

2 Grant Oates                    2nd     

3 David Lunn                    3rd

4 Gavin O’Brien                9th      


4 Minutes                    

5 Heather Hamling            4th

6 Ralph Iselt                      5th 

7 Tony Prytz                      6th 

8 Arno van der Schans      7th 

9 Steve Hamling                8th 

10 Larry Nocera    


10 Minutes  

11 Rebecca Luppino          10th

12 Gerard Hickey

13 Gary Legg   


23 Minutes 

14 Terry Robinson   


29 Minutes    

15 Des Read                







Nov 5th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of seventeen riders split into six groups for their club race.

Riders raced with reasonably strong south easterly winds.

The middle and front markers were made up of only five riders from three bunches.

With twelve riders making up the back three bunches.

The five riders from the 4-minute bunch caught the four riders from the 6-minute bunch at the 32Km mark.

This combined group went on to reel in the middle and front markers.

Coming around the last corner in to Factory Road with less than 2Km to go, Tony Prytz made what looked like a winning break.

But Arno van der Schans started the chase followed by Gavin O’Brien and Simon Redford.

O’Brien was rewarded for a strong ride to take his second win for the year and may have booked himself a spot in the scratch bunch.

Redford took second place with Prytz hanging on for third place.

The three scratchmen came in one and a half minutes behind the winner with Tony Luppino taking fastest time over David Lunn and Grant Oates.

Last week Geelong held their open race with only three Colac riders taking part.

Larry Nocera, Gavin O’Brien and Arno van der Schans finished in eighth, eleventh and fourteenth place respectively in a field of 98 riders.

Result: 49Km Club Race


1 Tony Luppino               Fastest Time

2 David Lunn              

3 Grant Oates      


4 Minutes   

4 Gavin O’Brien              1st          

5 Heather Hamling           6th 

6 Steve Hamling               7th

7 Ralph Iselt

8 Damian Luppino            

6 Minutes

9 Simon Redford               2nd

10 Tony Prytz                   3rd                                

11 Arno van der Schans     4th    

12 Larry Nocera                 10th            

10 Minutes

13 Rebecca Luppino           5th  

14 Gerard Hickey               9th      

15 Minutes  

15 Bruce Roberts                 8th 

16 Gary Legg

27 Minutes

17 Des Read