June 2017


June 25th 2017

The Colac Vets had a small field of 13 riders for the Noel King Memorial.

The riders who normally ride second and third scratch were put together to form a bunch of six on the scratch mark.

They were chasing seven minutes to the next four riders and twenty-nine minutes out to lone limit rider Des Read.

With a fairly strong north westerly wind blowing the scratch riders were able to reel in the rest of the field by the time they had passed the half way mark of the second of the two-lap course.

Only two riders from the seven-minute bunch were able to stay with the scratch riders to the finish.

Coming around the church corner before the finish at the Cororooke hall, with 800 metres to go, Gavin O’Brien attacked.

This caused a split with three riders coming in 100 metres clear of the remaining five riders.

Damian Luppino claimed his second win for the year and his first fastest time since joining the Vets in 2015.

Chris Kane was close behind in second with Gavin O’Brien in third.

The Colac Vets picked up another member with Erich Gstrein making a return.

Result: 46Km Noel King Memorial



1 Damian Luppino           1st & Fastest Time

2 Chris Kane                   2nd

3 Gavin O’Brien             3rd

4 Heather Hamling           4th  

5 Steve Hamling               6th

6 Arno van der Schans     7th  


7 Minutes                               

7 Gerard Hickey               5th

8 Len Murfitt                     8th  

9 Tom McBroom

10 Erich Gstrein  


15 Minutes

11 Noel Symons              

12 Terry Robinson          


29 Minutes             

13 Des Read            













June 18th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of 18 riders for their monthly medal.

The field was split into six groups with lone scratchman Tony Luppino giving a 33 minute start out to the three limit riders.

Terry Robinson was moved out to join the usual two limit riders in Des Read and Sue Theodore.

This trio had a 17 minute start on the next two riders in Noel Symons and Tom McBroom.

In the last couple of kilometres Robinson made a break away from co markers Read and Theodore which proved to be a good move with him holding off Symons in second and McBroom in third place to take his first monthly medal since September 2014.

Peter Theodore then led the next bunch of four riders in after Read and Sue Theodore.

Meanwhile the second and third scratch bunches had combined to form eight riders putting pressure on Tony Luppino to save fastest time.

Chris Kane led this group in two and a half minutes behind the winner.

But it was second scratch rider Heather Hamling who took fastest time honours with Luppino losing the time by just over half a minute to the second scratch bunch.

Result: 52Km Monthly Medal


1 Tony Luppino                      

1 Minute 30 Seconds                                 

2 Heather Hamling       Fastest Time  

3 Mark Purdie                 

4 Damian Luppino

5 Steve Hamling    

4 Minutes

6 Chris Kane                 10th    

7 David Coventry          

8 Rebecca Luppino

9 Gavin O’Brien           


8 Minutes             

10 Peter Theodore          6th

11 Jane Clifton               7th

12 Gerard Hickey           8th  

13 Len Murfitt               9th  

16 Minutes

14 Noel Symons             2nd

15 Tom McBroom         3rd

33 Minutes

16 Terry Robinson          1st               

17 Des Read                   4th  

18 Sue Theodore             5th  







June 4th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of only 14 riders for their club race with riders competing in cold but calm conditions.

Terry Robinson was the sole limit rider having a 20 minute start on sole scratchman Tony Luppino with four bunches in between them.

The 8 minute trio combined well to reel in the next three riders and go on to finish with one and a half minutes to spare over the combined second and third scratch bunches.

Len Murfitt claimed his first win since December 2015 ahead of co marker Gerard Hickey with Bruce Roberts riding off the 15 minute mark in third place.

Ralph Iselt led in the second and third scratch bunches with Tony Luppino coming in 30 seconds later to take fastest time.

There will be no club race this coming long weekend.

Result: 46Km Club Race



1 Tony Luppino           Fastest Time   


2 Minutes                                 

2 Ralph Iselt                   7th  

3 Mark Purdie               8th  

4 Arno van der Schans   10th  

5 Steve Hamling 


4 Minutes

6 Heather Hamling         9th    

7 David Coventry          

8 Rebecca Luppino            


8 Minutes

9 Len Murfitt                  1st

10 Gerard Hickey           2nd               

11 Peter Theodore          4th


15 Minutes

12 Bruce Roberts           3rd  

13 Peter Neal                 6th 


20 Minutes

14 Terry Robinson          5th