March 26th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of nineteen riders split into five bunches for their club race.

Riders raced in warm conditions with little wind.

The 7-minute bunch which started with six riders proved too strong for the back markers going on to reel in the 11-minute bunch of four riders and the two limit riders out on the 20-minute mark.

Peter Theodore’s long 140Km ride the week before must have been the difference in him taking his second win from just four starts this year.

The inform Paul Millar was second ahead of Len Murfitt in third.

The four scratchmen reeled in the 4-minute second scratch trio with these seven riders coming in 2 minutes and 24 seconds behind the winner.

Darren Allan claimed fastest time over David Lunn, Steve Hamling and Mark Purdie.

Result: 42Km Club Race



1 Darren Allan                Fastest Time

2 David Lunn

3 Steve Hamling

4 Mark Purdie   


4 Minutes                                 

5 Heather Hamling

6 Damian Luppino

7 Chris Kane


7 Minutes      

8 Peter Theodore             1st  

9 Paul Millar                     2nd

10 Len Murfitt                 3rd    

11 Gerard Hickey             5th

12 Paul Allen                   9th

13 Tom McBroom  


11 Minutes

14 Gary Legg                   4th  

15 Neil Widdicombe         6th  

16 Peter Neal                     7th  

17 Terry Robinson             8th 


20 Minutes

18 Murray Matthews         10th    

19 Sue Theodore                











March 19th 2017


The Colac Vets had a good field of twenty three riders split into six bunches for their monthly medal.

Riders raced in warm conditions with moderate north westerly winds.

The two scratchmen gave a 31 minute start out to lone limit rider Sue Theodore with four bunches consisting of five riders each in between them.

The 19 minute bunch went on to reel in Theodore and go on to take the first four places holding off the next three combined bunches by one minute and 24 seconds.

Bruce Roberts claimed his first win since October 2015 which also was a monthly medal.

Neil Widdicombe was second ahead of Peter Neal in third and Terry Robinson fourth.

David Lunn and Nick Brown finished next clear of the rest with Chris Kane leading in the remainder of the top ten riders.

The scratch duo was a further one minute 45 seconds back to take fastest time with Grant Oates leading in Tony Luppino.

Result: 52Km Monthly Medal



1 Grant Oates                 Fastest Time

2 Tony Luppino


4 Minutes 30 Seconds                                 

3 David Lunn                5th  

4 Nick Brown                 6th  

5 Steve Hamling             8th

6 Ralph Iselt  

7 Mark Purdie


7 Minutes 30 Seconds        

8 Chris Kane                   7th     

9 Heather Hamling           9th         

10 Damian Luppino         10th    

11 David Coventry  

12 Rebecca Luppino


11 Minutes

13 Ben Culton

14 Paul Millar

15 Paul Allen

16 Gerard Hickey

17 Peter Theodore


19 Minutes

18 Bruce Roberts             1st

19 Neil Widdicombe       2nd

20 Peter Neal                   3rd

21 Terry Robinson           4th

22 Murray Matthews  


31 Minutes

23 Sue Theodore






March 5th 2016



The Colac Vets had a field of fifteen riders split into four bunches for their club race.

Riders started off in ideal conditions but the wind did pick up in the second half of the race.

The two limit riders had a 20 minute start on the scratch trio and 10 minutes start on the next five riders behind them.

Limit rider Murray Matthews had ridden away from co marker Sue Theodore and was only caught by the 10 minute bunch with 5km to go.

Coming into the Cororooke hall finish four riders remained with Peter Theodore taking the win and Bruce Roberts just getting over Murray Matthews to take second.

Terry Robinson was fourth.

Chris Kane led in a well combined 3.30 minute bunch one minute later to take fifth place.

The three scratch riders fought for fastest time with the 3.30 bunch all race and managed to take time in the last quarter of the race to be 54 seconds up on time at the finish.

Ralph Iselt led in Heather and Steve Hamling for fastest time honours.

There will be no club race this coming long weekend.

Result: 47Km Club Race



1 Ralph Iselt                 Fastest Time

2 Heather Hamling

3 Steve Hamling   


3 Minutes 30 Seconds                                 

4 Chris Kane                5th  

5 Paul Millar                   6th  

6 Len Murfitt                   7th

7 Gerard Hickey             8th  

8 David Coventry           9th 


10 Minutes        

9 Peter Theodore           1st   

10 Bruce Roberts            2nd      

11 Terry Robinson           4th  

12 Noel Symons             10th  

13 Alan Green


20 Minutes

14 Murray Matthews       3rd  

15 Sue Theodore