Back to Top

December 2017

December 2017


Dec 17th 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of nineteen riders for their last race of the year.

The six bunch field raced with reasonably strong north easterly winds.

Limit rider Bernadette Rowbottom, even after losing co marker Des Read who was but back a bunch after his win last week, managed to put in a good solo ride to come in with nearly a couple of minutes to spare to take her second win from six starts.

The ten minute bunch rounded up the 18-minute trio and came in next.

Bruce Roberts and Gerard Hickey had a close sprint for second and third place with Roberts just edging out Hickey by the width of a tyre.

The scratch bunch had reeled in the 2-minute and 7-minute bunches and came in just over three minutes behind the winner.

Gavin O’Brien led in Nick Brown and Steve Hamling for fastest time honours.

After the race the club held their AGM where Peter Neal was nominated for and became a life member of the club.

The club will now have a break and resume racing on the 4th of February.

Result: 46Km Club Race


1 Gavin O’Brien                 6th & Fastest Time    

2 Nick Brown                     7th  

3 Steve Hamling

4 Ralph Iselt                        Dnf


2 Minutes     

5 Heather Hamling             9th 

6 Arno van der Schans       10th

7 David Coventry

8 Damian Luppino   


7 Minutes                     

9 Larry Nocera                    8th 

10 Rebecca Luppino

11 John Lee   


10 Minutes  

12 Bruce Roberts                2nd  

13 Gerard Hickey               3rd     

14 Peter Theodore              4th 

15 Len Murfitt       

18 Minutes 

16 Terry Robinson              5th                                 

17 Peter Neal  

18 Des Read   


28 Minutes                              

19 Bernadette Rowbottom   1st                







Dec 10th 2017

The Colac Vets had their best field since May with twenty one riders competing for the monthly medal at Cororooke.

The six bunch field raced in good conditions with moderate winds.

The three limit riders had a 10 minute start on the three riders behind them and 28 minutes back to the two scratchman.

In to the second of two laps the 3 minute bunch had caught the 5 minute bunch and the 8 minute bunch had caught the 18 minute trio.

The limit trio were still out of sight and the scratchman were not in contention.

With 8Km to go the combined 3 and 5 minute group had caught the combined 8 and 18 minute group.

Heading to the finish Sue Theodore had dropped off from the limit riders.

Des Read then rode away from Bernadette Rowbottom coming over the top of Lineen’s hill and go on to take his third win for the year and his second monthly medal to go with the one he only just won back in October.

Rowbottom held on for second place.

Ralph Iselt led the remaining riders in not far behind to take third place.

The two scratchman came in a couple of minutes later with Gavin O’Brien taking fastest time over Grant Oates.

After the race the club headed back to Colac for their annual dinner where the Aggregate shield was awarded.

Gerard Hickey finished in third place with Gavin O’Brien making a late charge to finish in second place.

But having only missed one race and finishing in the placings for points 23 times out of the 32 races, Heather Hamling finished a clear winner by 18 points to pick up her second aggregate having last won it back in 2006.

This week will be the clubs final race for the year.

Result: 47Km Monthly Medal


1 Gavin O’Brien                 Fastest Time    

2 Grant Oates


3 Minutes  

3 Ralph Iselt                       3rd 

4 Arno van der Schans       4th  

5 Heather Hamling             5th   

6 Steve Hamling                 7th 

7 Matt Simmonds       


5 Minutes 

8 Rebecca Luppino             6th                    

9 Larry Nocera                    9th 

10 Mark Purdie

11 John Lee   


8 Minutes  

12 Gerard Hickey               8th   

13 Peter Theodore              10th 

14 Len Murfitt

15 Noel Symons  


18 Minutes 

16 Terry Robinson              

17 Jeremy Tatchell               

18 Peter Neal  


28 Minutes    

19 Des Read                         1st

20 Bernadette Rowbottom   2nd      

21 Sue Theodore          









Dec 3rd 2017

The Colac Vets had a field of eighteen riders for their club race.

The five bunch field raced in cool and blustery conditions.

Riders were racing for a first prize donated by the club president Len Murfitt.

Only four riders from the first three bunches managed to make it to the end without being caught by the eleven riders from the combined scratch and second scratch bunches.

They came in with 43 seconds to spare.

Bruce Roberts claimed his second win for the year ahead of Gary Legg, Terry Robinson and Jeremy Tatchell.

Gavin O’Brien continued his fine form to lead in the remaining riders to take fifth place and fastest time.

Result: 46Km Presidents Day Race


1 Gavin O’Brien               5th & Fastest Time  

2 Damian Luppino             6th  

3 Heather Hamling             7th 

4 Tony Prytz                       8th  

5 Steve Hamling                10th 

6 Ralph Iselt            


5 Minutes            

7 Larry Nocera                   9th 

8 Rebecca Luppino

9 John Lee

10 Gerard Hickey

11 Len Murfitt              

13 Minutes

12 Bruce Roberts               1st 

13 Gary Legg                     2nd 

14 Tom McBroom            

17 Minutes

15 Terry Robinson             3rd 

16 Jeremy Tatchell             4th   

17 Peter Neal  

26 Minutes  

18 Des Read             



Page 1 of 6