October 2019


October 20th 2019


The Colac Vets had eleven riders for their monthly medal.

Riders were split into five small bunches with Murray Matthews the sole limit rider out on 26 minutes.

Riders competed out around North Cundare in strong south westerly winds but did avoid any rain.

The 12 minute duo’s race came to a halt at the 36km mark with a gust of wind causing a collision between Chris Kane and Bruce Roberts with Roberts coming down.

The third scratch trio went passed soon after and caught Matthews with some 10Km remaining.

The second scratch trio had to work hard to finally catch third scratch with 4Km to go.

With 1Km to go three riders got a mini break with Ralph Iselt leading out the sprint to take his second win for the year ahead of Heather Hamling and Larry Nocera.

With second scratch having ridden so well, they rode 8 seconds faster than the two scratchmen thus allowing Heather Hamling to take fastest time honours.

There will be no club race this week with Geelong holding their open race.


Result: 54Km Monthly Medal



1 Gavin O’Brien            6th          

2 David Coventry          7th  


2 Minutes 30 Seconds   

3 Heather Hamling      2nd & Fastest Time 

4 Steve Hamling            4th         

5 Nick Brown                5th         


5 Minutes

6 Ralph Iselt                  1st          

7 Larry Nocera             3rd 

8 Damian Luppino


12 Minutes

9 Chris Kane

10 Bruce Roberts


26 Minutes

11 Murray Mathews       8th 




October 6th 2019


The Colac Vets had 34 riders compete in the Red Rock Classic.

Riders battled strong westerly winds over a four lap course going five times over the Alvie hill and then finishing with a one kilometre climb to the top of red rock.

Four riders from the second scratch bunch combined well to ride through the field and kept well clear of the four scratchmen.

Geelong’s Nigel Pearson made his move with 500 metres of the climb to go and held off his four co markers to take the win.

Geelong’s Steve Douglas was second with Colac’s Gavin O’Brien in third and Geelong’s Kane Airey in fourth place.

Colac’s Tony Luppino led the scratchmen in some three minutes later to take fastest time.

There will be no club race this week with Colac being invited to race with Geelong.


Result: 54Km Red Rock Classic


First:      Nigel Pearson (4.00) Geelong

Second:  Steve Douglas (4.00) Geelong

Third:     Gavin O’Brien (4.00) Colac

Fourth:   Kane Airey (4.00) Geelong

Fifth:      Daryl Suter (7.30) Geelong

Sixth:     Tony Luppino (scratch) Colac

Seventh: Andrew Goodwin (scratch) Geelong

Eighth:   Grant Oates (scratch) Colac

Ninth:    Andrew Pownceby (scratch) Colac

Tenth:    Heather Hamling (9.00) Colac


Fastest Time: Tony Luppino (scratch) Colac