September 2019


September 29th 2019


The Colac Vets had fifteen riders for their monthly medal.

The sixteen-minute bunch of five riders caught the two limit riders out on the 27-minute mark and went on to hold off the back markers by just over one minute at the finish.

Chris Kane claimed his second monthly medal for the year ahead of Rebecca Luppino and Bruce Roberts.

The scratch foursome caught the second scratch riders with 10Km to go.

Grant Oates attacked up Lineen’s hill, but Tony Luppino was able to quickly respond and go on to take fastest time.

This week the club will host the Red Rock Classic with riders from Geelong and Warrnambool also competing.


Result: 52Km Monthly Medal



1 Tony Luppino            6th & Fastest Time          

2 Grant Oates                7th     

3 Gavin O’Brien            8th  

4 Andrew Pownceby     9th        


7 Minutes   

5 Heather Hamling        10th 

6 Mark Purdie

7 Damian Luppino

8 Glenn Paton                 


16 Minutes

9 Chris Kane                 1st       

10 Rebecca Luppino     2nd   

11 Bruce Roberts          3rd 

12 Peter Theodore           4th          

13 Gerard Hickey            5th 


27 Minutes

14 Terry Robinson

15 Murray Matthews










September 22nd 2019


The Colac Vets had their best field in three months with sixteen riders competing.

Riders raced a four lap course in dry conditions but with a reasonably strong cold north westerly wind blowing.

The field was split in to five bunches, with two more riders being added to last week’s winning limit front marker bunch.

This bunch of four riders once again held off the field by nearly a couple of minutes.

Paul Allen, having just his sixth race for the year, went one place better from last week to take the win ahead of Terry Robinson in second and last weeks winner Peter Neal in third place and Murray Matthews fourth.

Glenn Paton led the combined 13 and 15 minute bunches in next.

The scratch trio caught the second scratch trio on the last lap with this group coming in 2 minutes 45 seconds behind the winner.

Tony Luppino took fastest time over Andrew Pownceby and Gavin O’Brien.


Result: 48Km Club Race



1 Tony Luppino           9th & Fastest Time             

2 Andrew Pownceby   10th        

3 Gavin O’Brien             


6 Minutes   

4 Heather Hamling

5 Steve Hamling

6 Ralph Iselt                   


13 Minutes

7 Glenn Paton               5th 

8 Chris Kane                 6th     

9 Peter Theodore           7th  


15 Minutes

10 John Lee                   8th   

11 Len Murfitt

12 Gerard Hickey          Mechanical Failure


27 Minutes

13 Paul Allen                 1st

14 Terry Robinson        2nd  

15 Peter Neal                  3rd 

16 Murray Matthews       4th









September 15th 2019


The Colac Vets had a field of ten riders competing over a three lap course for their club race.

Riders started off in warm conditions but showers early in the race dropped the temperature slightly.

Last week’s lone limit rider Peter Neal, had help from co marker Paul Allen this week.

This pair went on to hold off the field by one and three quarter minutes at the finish with Neal taking his second win for the year over Allen.

The scratch duo picked up the rest of the field in the last half lap with Tony Luppino coming in third and taking fastest time over co marker Gavin O’Brien.


Result: 41Km Club Race



1 Tony Luppino           3rd & Fastest Time                     

2 Gavin O’Brien            4th 


5 Minutes   

3 Ralph Iselt                  5th 

4 Damian Luppino         6th 

5 Glenn Paton


11 Minutes

6 Chris Kane                  7th     

7 Peter Theodore            8th  

8 Rebecca Luppino        Punctured


22 Minutes

9 Peter Neal                   1st 

10 Paul Allen                 2nd 









September 8th 2019


The Colac Vets had just their second club race in five weeks with only seven riders turning up to race in cold and windy conditions.

Peter Neal was the lone limit rider out on 23 minutes and was caught by the 4.30-minute foursome with 8Km to go.

Coming in to the Cororooke hall finish, Steve Hamling was rewarded for his many strong performances with a rare win.

Heather Hamling continued her good form coming in second with Ralph Iselt finishing in third place.

Tony Luppino led in co marker Gavin O’Brien to take fastest time.


Result: 38Km Club Race


First : Steve Hamling (4.30)

Second : Heather Hamling(4.30)

Third : Ralph Iselt (4.30)

Fourth : Mark Purdie (4.30)

Fifth : Tony Luppino (scratch)

Sixth : Gavin O’Brien (scratch)

Seventh : Peter Neal (23.00)


Fastest Time : Tony Luppino (scratch)